City Council

Gunnison City Councilors and Term Dates:

Mayor - Jim Gelwicks

Term Expires - 12/14/2021

email Jim G. at: jgelwicks@gunnisonco.gov
cell: 970.765.4372

Mayor Pro Tem - Jim Miles

Term Expires - 12/14/2021

email Jim M. at: jmiles@gunnisonco.gov
cell: 970.209.2886

Councilor - Mallory Logan

Term Expires - 12/12/2023

email Mallory at: mlogan@gunnisonco.gov

Councilor - Diego Plata

Term Expires - 12/12/2023

email Diego at: dplata@gunnisonco.gov
cell: 970.648.0566 

Councilor - Boe Freeburn

Term Expires - 12/14/2021

email Boe at: bfreeburn@gunnisonco.gov


Council encourages citizens to attend Citizen Input. Citizen Input is a scheduled time at the beginning of every Regular Sesson Council Meeting where citizens can share their ideas or concerns with Council. Your input is important and encouraged. Citizens are given 3 minutes to present to Council. 

Contact Info:

Contact City Councilors through the City Clerk, the City Manager or by emailing them with the links listed above.

City Clerk: Erica Boucher, eboucher@gunnisonco.gov | 970.641.8140
City Manager: Russ Forrest, rforrest@gunnisonco.gov | 970.641.8171

Our City is managed by a Council/Manager form of government. There are five elected councilors chosen at-large throughout the City.

Our City Manager is responsible for the day-to-day operations of our City, while the City Clerk serves as the clerk to the City Council. The City Clerk is appointed by the City Manager, subject to confirmation by the City Council. The City Clerk oversees the City Council agendas with the approval of the City Manager. If anyone wants to appear on the agenda, please contact the City Clerk.The City Clerk attends all of the Council meetings and keeps a permanent journal of Regular Session meetings. Click here to go to the Agenda and Minutes page. If you need any other City Council information, please contact the City Clerk's office at 970.641.8080.