City Council

City Council


 Mayor - Diego Plata  Term Expires - 12/14/2027 Email: dplata@gunnisonco.gov
Cell: 970-648-0566 
City Clerk's Office: 970-641-8080
 Mayor Pro Tem - Marisela Ballesteros  Term Expires - 12/14/2027 Email: mballesteros@gunnisonco.gov
Cell: 970-648-4223
City Clerk's Office: 970-641-8080
 Councilor - Jim Gelwicks  Term Expires - 12/16/2025 Email: jgelwicks@gunnisonco.gov
Cell: 970-765-4372
City Clerk's Office: 970-641-8080
 Councilor - Matt Schwartz  Term Expires - 12/16/2025 Email: mschwartz@gunnisonco.gov 
City Clerk's Office: 970-641-8080
 Councilor - Scott Frazier  Term Expires - 12/16/2025 Email: sfrazier@gunnisonco.gov
City Clerk's Office: 970-641-8080
City Councilor Biographies
If you need any other City Council information, please contact the City Clerk's office at 970.641.8080.


Attend a Council Meeting

The Gunnison City Council meets at 5:30 PM on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of the month in the 2nd floor Council Chambers of City Hall, 201 W. Virginia Avenue in Gunnison, Colorado. Per the Gunnison Home Rule Charter, Special Session Meetings may be called as needed for Council to take action on issues outside of their Regular Session meeting schedule.
Access meeting agendas here.
If you would like to formally appear on a City Council meeting agenda, please contact the City Clerk at 970-641-8140.
Public Input is a standing agenda item at the beginning of every Regular Session Council Meeting for residents to share their ideas or concerns with Council. Your input is important and encouraged. The public is given 3 minutes to present to Council. 


Contact Info:

Contact City Councilors through the City Clerk, the City Manager or by their information listed above.
City Clerk: Erica Boucher, eboucher@gunnisonco.gov | 970-641-8140
City Manager: Amanda Wilson, awilson@gunnisonco.gov | 970-325-3611

Welcome to Gunnison

Gunnison is a small mountain community on the western slope of Colorado with a population of approximately 6,560 full time residents. The population increases annually with the influx of tourism and Western Colorado University students numbering an additional 2,500. The City of Gunnison is the county seat for Gunnison County. Gunnison has a rich history of ranching, agriculture, mining, tourism and outdoor recreation opportunities that bring many more people through the community.
Learn More